Purple Beds and our Black-haired Girl

purple bed

Ta da.  The magazine photo spread that inspired my current decorating undertaking.  Don’t ask me why, but I LOVE the PURPLE beds.  What’s up with that?  I love the buttery yellow walls, the chandelier, the white dresser with purple drawers, the flowery rug… I could go on and on…. the tea table, the flower hooks on the wall…… but the purple beds are just plain Quaint (with a capital Q).

Thanks to our dear friends, Bruce and Connie, we have a darling, curvy, wooden canopy bed with a spread of ribbons and flowers engraved on the headboard (that needed to be repainted.) Add the magazine inspiration, and what do you get?  Me painting a headboard, foot-board, four spindled posts and four swirly knobs PURPLE all afternoon.  And can I just comment that with paint you get what you pay for.  I paid quite a little fistful for this miniature can of grape-ish goodness, but it goes on super smooth like Skippy creamy peanut butter.  Well worth my husband’s hard-earned money.

Why the purple bed? you ask.  We were approved last week for our adoption of our little girl!  Wooo Hoooo!  So the call could come anytime from tomorrow until two years down the road… and she’ll need a purple bed.  Better sooner than later, is my motto.  I’m onto the purple drawers next, then the yellow walls that are calling my name in the night.

As I painted today, I couldn’t help but think about our daughter with black hair.  We requested a 3-5 year old, so she is down in Colombia right now, waiting for us to come and get her to bring her home.  In that specific country the referral is the last piece of the puzzle, so we have not been matched with her yet.  But I wondered this afternoon, amongst the paint fumes in my high-water navy sweat pants (for painting only), what is she doing today?  Playing with a doll?  Running on the grass?  Is she hungry?  Does she like to sing? And how can I love a child this much whom I haven’t met? 

Now that we are officially “waiting parents” it hit me today that with the purple bed painted, we are one step closer to tucking her in at night.  Telling her that she is loved.  And that listless feeling inside of me will also be put to rest, when all four of our kids are cozy under this roof.  She has no idea that I painted her bed purple today… but I did… especially for her.

www.LindaCrosby.com

Tags: , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Purple Beds and our Black-haired Girl”

  1. pluckymama Says:

    I didn’t know you were adopting!! AHHH the tears are springing forth. So you’re all done with all of the shenanagens and you’re just waiting to go get her?? You guys better be making a trip this way after you get her. I’ll need to kiss her cheeks and cry that another child got to go to a good home.

  2. Linda Ann Says:

    Yes, Leah, If your name is Crosby, somehow, some way you are or will be associated with adoption. It runs in this family thick like molasses. We are actually trying to get one, just ONE, kid that looks like Rick. He is the most genetically weak Cree Indian I have ever met. I’ll laugh if our blonde-haired, blue-eyed children marry blonde-haired, blue-eyed spouses and have little, dark Indian babies. Genetics are a wierd deal. Yes, we will bring her to her third homeland…. to meet all the crazy Canadians.

  3. Jennie C. Says:

    William still prays for her every night. He also prays for protection for you from all the snakes and scorpions. Every single night.

    This blog made me teary, too.

  4. rixgal Says:

    Jennie, that is so sweet, when you think about one kid waiting to be adopted praying for another kid waiting to be adopted. Who knows her heart better than William?

    And please tell him that his prayers for snake and scorpion protection are working. We have gone rattler free for over a year. And only 1 scorpion in the house in the last 2 years.

  5. Coral Says:

    Linda you crack me up every single time I get to go on this site. I am so excited about your little one coming. I beleive she is a singer. Have you seen August Rush??? It’s a wonderful movie that I saw last fall, it spoke my language about hearing music in sounds everywhere I go and the story line is powerful about the bond of family. Love you guys tons,…Love Coral.

  6. rixgal Says:

    Larisa and I have wanted to see August Rush… I think now we’re waiting for the video.

Leave a Reply

