?#13 from My Sister’s Jar – Resisting Change

Tell about a time you resisted change and how it impacted your life.

The year was 1999 and we were looking for a church for our family.  We wanted a family oriented church, not too huge, where we could feel like we belonged.  Friends of ours invited us to a new church that was opening up, so we packed up the family and went.  My husband Rick loved it immediately.  He loved the preaching.  He loved the worship.  He loved all the new people to talk to.

I guess I didn’t resist the change to go to a new church… I just didn’t think THIS was the church and I sat unhappily in the pew for 18 months not feeling like I belonged.  Rick kept saying that I needed to go to set a good example for our three kids.  So I went.  I heard the sermons.  I was awed by the musicians.  I saw lots of new faces.  But I didn’t get involved at all. 

I’m not sure what jumped started my commitment to be a part of the new church family, but after 18 months I finally stepped out of my comfort zone to meet people and make friends.  One guy that Rick befriended told me years later that he thought I was a stiff, not friendly and no fun.  He couldn’t figure out how Rick got stuck with me.  :o)   Eventually he met the REAL me and we’ve laughed about it ever since.

My pew-sitting time impacted not only my life, but my husband’s life and the life of my children.  Admittedly, I was burned out from previous over-work and frustration in a previous church, but until I realized that I was the one who had to decide to smarten up, my attitude was pretty awful.  That ol’ hindsight saying came nipping at my heels yet again.  Why did it take me so long?  I don’t know.  What did I lose?  18 months of spiritual growth and untold friendships that slipped between my fingers while they were firmly folded in my lap.

We’ve now been at our church, Scottsdale First Assembly Dream Center, for over nine years and we love it.

Change is my friend.  Change is my friend.  Change is my friend.  :oP

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

