?#14 from My Sister’s Jar – My Mom

What is the fondest memory you have of your mom?

An appropriate question for the week leading up to Mother’s Day.  Many are the fond memories in my mind of my mother.  I can’t pinpoint just one, so here are the top ten fond memories of Grace E. Nikander, my mother of 42 years.

10.  When she donned her orange karate outift several times …. when my high school friends were over…. complete with the high kicking demonstration.  (I need to get one of those outfits because my eldest is entering high school in September.  Heh heh heh.)  The picture is from around 1982 ish.

9.  When she painted an entire scenic background for a Easter pagaent at church, complete with three crosses on Golgotha, the town of  Jerusalem, rolling hills and cactus with ladybugs on them.  Detail should be her middle name.

8.  When she would yell, “You can do it, honey!” loudly at my basketball games when the fans were quiet because I was shooting a free throw. 

7.  When I arrived home with the news that I landed a job as a legal assistant for a family law attorney, and she responded, “We’re just lucky we’re cute.”  Yeah, Ma, brains had nothin’ to do with it.  :o)

6.  When she took the time to do my hair all fancy for Japanese day in first grade and I got my picture in the town paper stirring the fried rice with chop sticks.

5.  When she pulled over on the highway and ran across traffic to retrieve the head of my pinwheel that blew off after I stuck it out the station wagon window.

4.  When she figured out how to squeal the wheels on the station wagon in the church parking lot…. again … and even again.

3.  When we were vacationing in Klamath Falls, Oregon and she suggested that we buy some pop so we could burp.  (That was TRULY uncharacteristic for my proper Canadian, tea-sipping mother.)

2.  When she made rice-a-roni and hamburger every Monday night for 5 years in a row.

1.  When she lead me in the sinner’s prayer by my bedside when I was five years old and I asked Jesus into my heart.

Thanks, Mom.  You’re the BEST.  XOXOXO

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “?#14 from My Sister’s Jar – My Mom”

  1. Jennie C. Says:

    “Her children arise and call her blessed” Proverbs 31:28a

  2. MasterBruceman's Wife Says:

    So we crashed the “Young Married’s” Sunday School class yesterday at church because the Old Married’s Class was canceled due to Mother’s Day. They were talking about Christian homes and if there was a place that you always felt welcome and at home, that drew you to want to be there. I was instantly teleported back to the early 80’s (and this picture, Grace’s Pantsuit and all) and immediately thought of the Nikander Family. It was the home I wish I had, not in a jealous way, but wistfully. This is the way God intended families to be. My parents loved me and my mom was doing a great job keeping us in church, but it was not a unit of togetherness and common purpose as I saw in the Nikander house. I know sometimes kids’ friends can intrude and maybe there were some days days they wished for a little privacy, but they NEVER made you feel that way. I TRULY felt like one of their own kids, always welcome and made to feel at home and I am profoundly grateful for the loving atmosphere I was allowed to be a part of. Whether it was jumping in bed with Linda when I was late (again!) for carpool and we might as well just miss first period, taking pictures on the stairs before JSB, watching Christy and Jan rewind THAT volleyball scene yet again from Top Gun, playing games in the Americana Room, watching Rob wash his car, watching Rick wash his car, in December, in shorts because hey, he was Canadian and THIS was WARM!, learning to play Dutch Blitz at the Kitchen Table (a vonderful goot game) or Bruce drinking from the measuring cup so he could know how much he was drinking, there was always food, milk, fun, love and laughter and I thank you for including me in your family. I hope to pay forward the legacy of acceptance and love. Happy Mother’s Day Grace!

Leave a Reply

