I did it! (What I mean is….)

Hannah and Larisa, Eighth Grade Graduates

What IS the gang sign for homeschoolers???

Our baby girl graduated from jr. high yesterday… can that mean I’m old enough to have a child in high school???  Where did the time go?  Wasn’t it last week when I was dressing Barbies and holding the back of the two-wheeler pink Barbie bike running down the grassy hill at the park?  Larisa has surpassed our hopes and dreams for her at this point.  If I had buttons on my shirt yesterday they would have burst…. then I could’ve embellished a cute graduation scrapbook page with them. 

Homeschool graduation is more than the child’s accomplishments.  Of course we are proud.  But the mothers at the graduation yesterday were hugging each other and congratulating each other, “You made it!”  None of us have ever felt truly confident in our skills, abilities or knowledge.  All of us have wondered at one time (or 327 times) if we are doing the right thing for our kids, ourselves and our families.  I have yet to finish a year of homeschooling feeling like I did my absolute best.  But on graduation day I didn’t think of my doubting times, my crying times or (gasp) my hiding in the closet to pray times. 

Yes, there are times when I would love to spend the day at the mall trying on shoes or lunching with other moms while our kids are in school.  But then I think of sending the children off each day to be with some other adult and life becomes crystal clear again.  I couldn’t do it.  I love them too much.  I want to be with them (well…. most of the time) and share in their learning.

Congratulations, Larisa!  WE did it.

www.LindaCrosby.com

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “I did it! (What I mean is….)”

  1. Michele Says:

    Larisa looks amazing. She is so grown up!!!
    Miss you guys!!

  2. The Informal Matriarch Says:

    Does this mean she goes to public school now??

  3. rixgal Says:

    Leah, Are you kidding???? NO!
    L.A.K.E. Academy is K-12. (Larisa Austin Keeve E…. Academy)
    See why Zaza needs an E name?

  4. morethananelectrician Says:

    Good job to all. We are just beginning this quest…our oldest is just finishing the third grade, the middle one is starting her pre-K curriculum this month and the youngest is five months old.

    This is a complete family accomplishment for your family!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

