uWink and the Rosicruisians

Much to the dismay of my children, we dragged them through a museum on this visit in California.  What did they think they got to do the whole blasted time?  Play?  Nope.

What is cool is that there is an Egyptian museum in San Jose… with real livedead mummies and you can see them close up and count their teeth!  There were so many artifacts, it was amazing… well, if you had just finished studying Egypt, you would understand.  Even Larisa thought it was cool.  If that isn’t a stamp of approval (a 15 year old), I don’t know what is.  Unfortunately I forgot my camera, but we did have Larisa’s.  Unfortunately #2, she won’t let me post the nerdy pictures of her kissing Amenhotep or standing by the hippo fountain.  Sheesh.  What are blogs for?

THEN, we celebrated Connor’s 10th birthday and visited uWink, a restaurant that is uber cool with computers on each table to order from and play games.  It didn’t promote discussion or warm family memories, but Rick and I did have the high score in the Zillionaire game… until Bruce and Connie played.  Whatever.  It’s only because I don’t know any movie lines from Star Trek, the Simpsons or Men in Black. 

It is so refreshing to be away from home without the  phone or the calendar.  And I need to live somewhere other than Phoenix so I can have a back yard like Connie’s.  It is grassy and has big trees, garden trellis’, a play house, huge roses that smell heavenly and a raised bed veggie garden.  We even went out and ate cherry tomatoes and green peas IN THE GARDEN.  Ahhhhh.  I’m definitely in the wrong state for a garden lover.

7 Responses to “uWink and the Rosicruisians”

  1. morethananelectrician Says:

    You really need to brush up on your Simpsons.

  2. LaVonna Says:

    Sounds like fun. Maybe when Larisa is not looking, you can slip that pick in on the blog…hee.hee. I know James deleted some black-mail pics I took the other day. Oh well. I still have them in my mind. So you continue to have fun in California. You need a great relaxing time with great friends. :)

    In the words of Spock, “Live long and prosperous.” (I’m holding my hands up to you in the Vulcan way.)

  3. rixgal Says:

    Hi Linda: Glad to see you made it okay. Enjoyed your blog. Looking forward to seeing the pictures — all of them! Got the tree up and some decorations and Dad did the lights on the house. Its great to have him home more. Say Hi to the Heaths. Love you, Mom

  4. conniewoman Says:

    OK…LaVonna, I don’t know you but if you are a firend of Lick and Rinda’s then you are a friend of mine…it is like the Family of God sorta thing, we are all related and friends are the family that you get to pick. So that being said…it is “Live Long and Prosper”. And strangely enough..the Vulcan Hand Sign is also a Jewish religious sign…Leonard Nimoy is Jewish. Neat little trivia for you. We are so weird, my second daughter got extra credit in a composition class for knowing how to say “to be or not to be” in Klingon. The teacher was a nerdie trekker too. And Lin, you know we have told you you can move into the playhouse anytime you want. We will even let you in to use the bathroom once a day. We could also do a homeschool for trade and rent you the basement if you really want to move to California…your mom would kill me. By the way, Hi Auntie Grace and Uncle Ed! Why are you using Linda’s computer??

  5. rixgal Says:

    Hi. This is Grandma Grace and I’m logged in as rixgal so thats how it is!!! No you can’t have Linda — you can tell her our flowers are blooming like the dickens and you can have a garden if you read how to do it in
    Arizona. Anyhoo, as Christy would say, I’m glad you guys are having fun. We have the Nikander kids here while R & J are at a 70’s party. You should have seen Rob with his velour purple shirt matching his purple pants — and then he touched off his look with my large gold chain!!! Julie looked darling in my dress from my high school reunion topped off with her high black platform boots. They were a sight to behold. I’d better get it in -play with the kids. Love from us all.

  6. Grace Says:

    Okay – now I know how to do a comment in my own name. Sorry Linda – I’m still trying to get the hang of using the computer.

  7. LaVonna Says:

    Dear Connie,

    Love being part of the extended family. :) Thanks for the correction on the Vulcan thing. My oldest brother was and is a trekky. I think I have seen pretty much all the Star Trek reruns thanks to him. That is a good thing. Makes it so that I can play trivia when needed. You never know when you need to know about when Spock showed so much emotion and LOVE when he smells the flower on the planet where they go to find the lost colony of scientists or how to get rid of tribbles.

    I did not know that about the Jewish sign. Very cool. I do not know Vulcan. I’m more of a Star Wars buff and so the nerdiness is passed onto my hip-son. :)

    Blessings,
    Lavonna

Leave a Reply

