Raising Boys….. what next?

011

I was browsing through some old pictures on the computer and every other file folder contains pictures of my boys doing stunts, teasing the dog, wearing costumes, etc.  Some of the pictures were even taken by them…. as proof that they did stupid stunts in my absence.  This first photo is one such picture.  Would I let them jump down the stairs?  No.  The only thing about this shot that made me breathe easy is in the bottom right hand corner there appears to be one of their bunk bed mattresses…. for the soft landing, of course.

03-06-boys-washing-machine-005

I did take this shot.  It made me laugh.  We put the old washing machine out on the curb for “large garbage pick up” and the boys decided to turn it into a race car.  They stripped the “instrument panel” and spray painted it gold.  Then returned the speedometer and the other pertinent gauges.  They used masking tape to make racing stripes before spray painting the entire auto body.  It was very authentic as only one driver could get into the vehicle at a time.

my-40-th-023

Here’s a scene I happened on in our backyard.  It’s our very own border patrol.  Funny thing is, he’s in his church clothes… with his brother’s pellet gun… what was he thinking?  Who knows?  What was he shooting?  Who knows?

river-my-bday-coop-022

Before we landscaped our yard, Austin decided to dig a hole to China.  He almost made it.  He would climb in there and pull the plywood over the top and we wouldn’t know where he was for hours….  makes a mother wonder….   why buy electronic toys when you can give a boy a shovel?  We later used his hole to plant a nice plum tree. 

my-room-lalas-room-boys-stuff-009

I thought I’d throw this one into the mix… this is my husband’s side of the bathroom counter in the master bathroom.  See anything peculiar?They never grow up, do they?

Tags: , , , , ,

8 Responses to “Raising Boys….. what next?”

  1. LaVonna Says:

    I can not stop laughing!!!!! Your family just cracks me up. :)

  2. Jennie C. Says:

    I am a little bit sad that there isn’t a picture of the completed race car / washing machine. The first picture rocks.

  3. rixgal Says:

    I never got a picture of the painted race car… the garbage man came with the fork lift before I got out there. Bummer dude. It would have been such an asset in their homeschool art portfolios. :o)

  4. Grumps Says:

    I recently talked to a friend of mine from my same era (born in the late 20’s) that worked at training flight crews in simulators, etc. His opinion is that the “young folks” today (in their 30’s and 40’s) are very sharp in their electronics/computer operation area (today’s airplanes are computerized) but weak in common sense problem solving. Most have not grown up like we did, digging holes, making camps, creating toys, climbing trees, fixing our bicycles, and solving problems to find fun and satisfaction. Let those boys of yours dig holes, make race cars, sidewalk scooters, run up down escalators, etc. and they will be the better for it.

  5. Kelly Says:

    Gotta love the boys in our lives. :o)

    Got my bag today. Love Love Love it. I will be taking a picture & posting soon.

  6. morethananelectrician Says:

    My wife was convinced that she didn’t know how to entertain a boy…I tried to tell her that she didn’t need to worry about THAT part of raising one. It would be keeping him from breaking bones would be the challenge.

  7. Venessa Says:

    Just wanted to let you know how much I love your blog, I can always count on you for a little humor and perspective. Can’t wait until your next book comes out! Keep up the fabulous work…

  8. rixgal Says:

    Grumps, that is so true! Our boys have friends who ONLY play video games… they are so out of their element at our house.

    MTAE – around here it’s been broken windows that we’ve had a problem with. I think we’re up to five.

    THANK YOU, Vanessa. I ask my husband often, after seeing the daily blog stats, “Who are these people?” Now I know. It’s you. :o) You made my day.

Leave a Reply

