Why does this happen to ME?

I’ve been bugged before about always knowing someone no matter where we are.  It happened again today, but it wasn’t true!  I was helping at a car wash for my daughter’s Marine Biology trip in June.  It was supposed to start at 8 am but a guy pulled up at 7:45 and asked if his car could be washed NOW.  Sure.  So the wash crew attacked the car and the man came to talk to me, the donation bucket lady.  He was an Indian man, dressed like a cowboy, on his way to watch his son ride bulls in the high school rodeo.  He was hilarious.  He kept putting his arm around me and he couldn’t believe I knew the little Northern Arizona town where he lived. (Rick flies in there.)  I asked him why Indians always dress like cowboys.  He explained that there are Indian cowboys and white cowboys.  OH, that’s how it works!  Anyway, we were jolly friends by the time his car was shiny and dry.  He gave me a $20 donation, a hug and a kiss before he left.  The other mothers asked who the man was…. like I knew him.  “I don’t know!”  I said.  They didn’t believe me.  Whatever.  At least I was doing good taking collections for the Biology trip.

The next guy that pulled up came and was chatting with me about homeschoolers and biology and why our car wash was free.  (The kids got sponsors per car.)  He was wearing a Firefighter Training Academy t-shirt, so I asked if he was in training.  Nope, he’s a trainer.  I mentioned that I know a family from Washington state who have a son in training in AZ, but in a different town, Buckeye.  He told me that he teaches in Buckeye and asks the guys name.  I could only remember their last name, but he was indeed one of his students and he knew him.  Again, the mothers asked who he was…. like I know all the people who have dirty cars!?

I felt like singing “It’s a small world after all…. it’s a small world after all… it’s a small, small world.”

It was a successful wash…. $483!  Rock on!

4 Responses to “Why does this happen to ME?”

  1. Jill Says:

    A hug AND kiss?? Aren’t those cowboys so friendly……… :)

  2. morethananelectrician Says:

    Are you sure your top was buttoned up all the way? ;)

    • rixgal Says:

      So funny! That happened to my sister-in-law at a work convention. hahahahahaha…. nope, not me. I was wearing a very respectable t-shirt.

  3. LaVonna Says:

    It was a great day for a carwash. I’m sorry we couldn’t have been there to see you in action and wooing the car owners…lol. Nah, we were sick with bronchitis. :( One thing is for sure, I’ll call you to come and man the yard sale for us. :)

Leave a Reply

