My Friend-Imposed Turtle Collection

A long time ago in a neighborhood far far away, my friend Jill was having a birthday.  So I called all of our friends and organized a surprise party for her on a Monday morning at 7:30 am at HER house.  It was the perfect set up.  I also told all the ladies to bring something for Jill’s dragonfly collection.  She didn’t have a dragonfly collection until that fateful birthday party. Sooooooo, after that, Jill decided to start my turtle collection for me.  Do I like turtles?  Not particularly.  Do I have a collection?  Yes, thanks SOLELY to Jill.  Every time she leaves her home for more than 24 hours, she brings home a turtle for me.  So thoughtful.  Here are just a few of the beautiful, nerdy and bling bling turtles that she has given me:

THE WIND CHIME TURTLE

turtles-005

THE RUSTY DUSTY IRON TURTLE

turtles-007

THE KITCHEN SINK COLLECTION

turtles-004

TODAY’S NEW ADDITION…… THAT ONLY LASTED ABOUT 10 MINUTES, THE SAN FRANSISCO SOUR DOUGH BREAD TURTLE

turtles-002

Not pictured: the fabric covered turtle photo box, the sea turtles climbing out of the ocean socks, the sterling silver turtle necklace with interchangeable authentic stones, etc. etc.

So there you have it….. a fun, annoying hobby: collecting items for a friend that your friend doesn’t really like.  It’s really quite entertaining searching through Chevrons across the nation for these little gems.  But it’s the thought that counts.  We have since started our other friends on their collections:  owls, ladybugs, flamingos and bumble bees.  My sister has a wide mouth frog collection…. that one’s a little harder to find, but when I do, boy howdy, it’s a fer-sher sale.

Thanks, Jill!

Tags: , , , , ,

5 Responses to “My Friend-Imposed Turtle Collection”

  1. Jennie C. Says:

    Awww – such good friends. I love that windchime.

  2. Jill Says:

    The edible collection item. How cool was THAT?! I was soooo excited when I came upon that one! Yes, it is a bit of a vacation addiction. We will go into a store while on vacation and one of my family members will say, “what are you looking for, Mom?!” Probably because I have this “MUST FIND….” look on my face. And I say, “a turtle for Miss Linda!!”
    And to see her face when I give her the new addition to her collection is……. priceless!

  3. Jill Says:

    ………….. and I must say….. your turtle collection is quite impressive, if I must say so myself.

  4. rixgal Says:

    It only rivals your dragonfly collection….. and Bruce’s Batman collection. OK, no. Bruce wins.

  5. LaVonna Says:

    Wow, what a fun circle of friends.

Leave a Reply

