Saturday Scrapbook Jam

havinaball4

Yes, I had fun.  Got that outta the way.  I attended a scrapbooking day from 9:00 am to midnight on Saturday… and I lived to tell the story.  One of the albums I worked on was the one we are supposed to send to Zaza when we accept her referral.  It is to be an introduction of our family and home for her to familiarize herself with before we travel down to South America.  So I’ve taken pictures of the house, the dog, Walmart, the kitchen table, our relatives that live here in Phx., the van, the boys playing hockey, Grandma and Grandpa’s house, the church, the bathroom, Taco Bell, …. all the regulars in our life.  We hope to get this album back when we bring Zaza home so she will have a memory of the first time she saw all of us and our lives, but we don’t know if we will get it back. 

Needless to say, I did not throw my creative scrapbooking soul into this project.  There are no ribbons, no eyelets, no buttons, no inked edges, no tearing, no staples, no silk flowers, etc. etc.  It’s a back-to-the-basics album:  paper, photos and journaling.  I went through my paper stash and pulled out all the pastels that I hardly ever use.  It is an 8×10 album and I covered each page first with pinks, yellows, pale blues and lavenders.  It’s pretty.  (sort of.)  I tried to organize the photos so there was a sense of flow: us, house, yard, pets, relatives, other.  (Yes, pets came before G&G and Aunts and Uncles.)  I didn’t even back any of the photos.  Yes, this was hard for me.  The instructions were to leave room for someone to write the Spanish translation of my journaling, so I didn’t write much.  I haven’t made an album this plain and simple for 12 years.

Several ladies present were new acquaintances for me… and I to them.  Lovely ladies and new friends.  As usual I talked my way through the album and they were all fully aware of what I was working on.  They asked to see it when I was done… yes, I finished the whole thing in about 3 hours… 30 pages.  A new record.  They were so gracious and told me how nice it was and that they liked the paper I chose.

Then I moved onto REAL scrapbooking.  Out came my stash of do-dads, inks, rub-ons, sand paper, ribbons, metal dealies and tools to make your eyes cross.  I was in my glory.  For the remainder of the 11 hours (we took an hour lunch break) I completed 5 pages.  But they are really nice…. lots of layers and colors and texture and pizazz.  One of the ladies came over to see what I was doing and practically yelled, “OH MY GOSH!”  when she saw my creations.  Yes, I told them Zaza’s adoption journal was simple, but they did not realize just how much I restrained myself from breaking into the real Linda, Scrapbooking Queen.  It was so funny.  They all came and looked at my pages.  I thanked all of them for saying such cordial words of praise for my simple album…. and we all laughed whole heartily.  8^D

I know I won’t be in any frame of mind to do Zaza’s scrapbook, no matter how simple, once we get the referral call, so this was good.  Real good.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

