Word Problems

tapemeasure01

Math word problems can be complicated enough without throwing the homeschool curve on a fourth grader.  Keeve was sitting in the kitchen doing his math today… estimating and measuring lengths in inches, feet and yards.  He seemed to be staring out the back door quite often… sometimes this means he’s thinking.  Sometimes it means he’s mentally checked-out.  I asked if he understood what he was doing and if he needed help.  After blowing out a long exasperated breath he said, “Is the kitchen table my desk?”  “Yes, son, today it’s your desk.”  Some guessing transpired along with some measuring.  Then he retrieved the measuring tape from the pantry and was moving it around and around on the kitchen floor and into the family room and hall.  I asked if he needed help again.  He replied, “Where does my classroom start and stop?  Is the family room my classroom too?”  Oh, the struggles of homeschooling.  Nothing cut and dry here on the home front.

This morning I caught my eldest son counting aloud days on the calendar.  Just when he was nearing the end of the teens I announced loudly, “Nineteen!”  He was a bit surprised that I knew EXACTLY how many more days of school we have.  Well, duh.  It’s my summer holiday too.  :o)

Thankfully I found a DVD on Galileo for this afternoon.  Whew.  Remember how much YOU loved movie day at school!?!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Word Problems”

  1. LaVonna Says:

    Always exciting around the Crosby home. :)

  2. Kristen Benson Says:

    hahaha. I love this and so relate. I use Saxon math with my younger kids and in many of the lessons they use “classroom stuff.” Yesterday, Stephanie was supposed to read a birthday graph of everyone’s bday in her class. Hmmmmm, we made a graph and put our dog’s birthday on it to make her “class” bigger and thus more fun to chart.

Leave a Reply

