Crazy Things Kids Do

In honor of Mother’s Day, I thought I’d share some of the thoughts that fill my mental processing time.  Most mothers have pondered the same types of quandaries that I do, I’m sure of it!  Here are just a few questions that have run through my mind this week:

twist_tie_tortilla_LV

1.  Why does a kid, who can’t take the time to dry his hands after washing them, close the bread twist-tie with 16 turns?

2.  Do my children notice that there’s only 12 more squares of TP on the roll and only use 10 so they don’t have to change the roll?

3.  Why do kids, who cannot see when they’ve left things in disarray all over a room, notice minutely chopped onions in chili? 

4.  I was asked, “Why do we have to match our clothes anyway???”  I never did come up with a good answer for that one…. “because.”

5.  My personal favorite, when asked if my son has brushed his teeth, he replied, “Almost.”  What does that mean?

6.  Where does fashion sense come from?  My 10 year old son requested yellow skin-tight jeans.  Am I missing something here?

elf

Oh, the wonders of being a mother multiplied by three.  It’s a fabulous life that I wouldn’t trade for all the rice in China.

Tags: , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Crazy Things Kids Do”

  1. Jennie C. Says:

    Brightly coloured skinny jeans are all the rage … but I personally believe that people with my thighs should try and avoid them if at all possible.

    I love the styles the teens (or pre teens?) go through. I really do. They crack me up and can be so fun – when they’re not immodest.

  2. BlueRain Says:

    Here’s one:

    Why is it when you call to your little one only down the hallway to explain that it’s time for bed they never hear you but if you krinkle a tiny little wrapper on a candy bar all the way in the kitchen (5-6 miles away), they come running.

  3. Karen Says:

    Why (on Mother’s Day) does covering your 4 year old brother with ashes (from the fireplace ash bucket) in order to make him white and then coloring his nose red with a marker (to be a clown) seem like a good idea?

  4. Jill Says:

    Oh my my my, Karen. That IS a good one. That’s the kind of stories that end up in Linda’s books. I thought only her children did those unthinkable deeds. But you, too, will be able to laugh at this in – oh…. a few weeks, months, years(?) from now…….. It sounds really funny to me – but then I didn’t have to clean up the mess. :)

  5. Jennie C. Says:

    Ashes – very creative. Does he get points for creativity?

Leave a Reply

