Clean Air and Blue Water

The combination simply invigorates my soul.  Larisa and I returned from our Tall Ship adventure on Wednesday morning at 12:30 am.  Nine hours later I spoke on the phone with my friend, Connie, from California.  She told me they were driving up to their home in Tahoe and half jokingly said, “Why don’t you guys come?”  We usually go with them every summer, but we try to wait until late July or August when it is a sheer pleasure to leave Phoenix.  We didn’t plan on making the 14 hour trek this year because of our coming trip to Colombia to pick up Zaza, our little girl.

I hung up with Connie and phoned Rick, my pilot who is chained in a cubicle in the aeronautics department for the time being.  Let me just say, he wasn’t too hard to convince.  His only question was, “Do they get NBC?  The Stanley Cup final game in Friday night.”  He made a few calls and at 2:00 p.m. we decided to leave for Tahoe that night.

A bit of craziness followed the spontaneous decision and we were on the same road between AZ and CA that we had just traveled 20 hours previously, albeit in the other direction.  We pulled out at 8:30 p.m. and have been lounging in the cool air of Lake Tahoe for four days now.  It is chillier than August, but just as beautiful!  I love it here.  I’m pretty sure there will be huge pine cones in heaven along with blue jays and bushy tailed squirrels.

Tags: ,

5 Responses to “Clean Air and Blue Water”

  1. Jill Says:

    Incredibly beautiful! It makes me miss my Oregon trip this year.

  2. mitnchris Says:

    I live an hour and a half from tahoe and would LOVE to know where the heck that gorgeous spot there! WOW – I didn’t know such a spot existed in Tahoe. If possible Id love for you to email me the main area where that is? mitnchris at aol dot com – thanks!

  3. morethananelectrician Says:

    WOW. Amazing. Has to be hard to leave a place like that.

  4. Kelly Says:

    That is beautiful. Enjoy your trip. We have no new news from Colombia yet. We’re really trying to step up our saving/fundraising :) I know that God will take care of all the details. You can be sure that we will be shouting his praises about our G.G., as soon as we know ;o)

  5. rixgal Says:

    This picture is from the North Shore between Incline and Sand Harbor.

Leave a Reply

