Ask a Dumb Person…. Get a Dumb Answer

This is a famous quote from my father, o wise patriarch of our family.  But it’s true.  I’ve tested it!  Here are a few examples to prove the statement as factual:

1.  Why did you throw the rock through the window?

2.  (Asking a four year old) Why did you drive the van?

Since it’s Father’s Day, I figured I’d add a few more of my dad’s famous sayings for your personal enjoyment, and so some of you will understand why I appreciate the humor that I do.  Here goes:

“You know that old Mexican expression….. El Tuffo!”

When I asked if I could get a new bathing suit, “Don’t you have any old underwear you could spray paint?”

After slamming my foot on the coffee table, “Is the table ok?”

After standing for 30 minutes in the family room watching cartoons with us kids, “I’m just passing through.”

When on family road trip vacation after being asked how far we have to go, “About that far,” while holding his thumb and finger up to show 3 inches.

One of my personal favorites, when coming to our rooms to administer spankings he would sit on the bed and say, “The longer it takes you to get here, the harder it’s going to be.” 

He renamed the meaning of TLC to Tiny Little Cookies.

He also showed all of us kids (and spouses and grand kids) great integrity, faith and devotion in every area of his life.  I’m so thankful my husband and boys have my dad’s great example to follow.  I love you DAD!  Happy Father’s Day! (and can I have $20?)

3 Responses to “Ask a Dumb Person…. Get a Dumb Answer”

  1. Christy Butcher Says:

    This made me smile!

  2. Christy Butcher Says:

    You forgot that when I said, “Why are you diving this way?” He would always say, “Variety is the spice of life!” Also when I would say, “It hurts when I do this.” and he would reply, “Then don’t do that!” :0)

  3. rixgal Says:

    I didn’t remember the driving one, but I DO remember the “don’t do that” one. Yes, a fine addition to my list. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

