Knight in Sweaty Armor to the Rescue!

DSCN2318.jpg image by dr_snooz

No, this is not my husband using the hammer to fix the broken air conditioning in the van.  (Thank God!)  I did get a bit nervous when #1 son came in the house to get the duct tape for his father, who was indeed fixing the air conditioning in the van.  Mr. “Your wife is dumb” Mechanic quoted $600 to “remove the whole dash board” to repair the malfunctioning air conditioning pump.  Um, no.

I suggested we save money and remove the dashboard ourselves and then take it in.  I was joking.  Obviously my comment caused some mental motion on my husband’s part.

My thrifty, brilliant, and college educated husband whipped out the owner’s manual for our 2002 Dodge Caravan and studied up on A/C repair.  It seems that the A/C fan motor is quite easily accessible if you simply remove the glove compartment from the dash board.  Rick purchased a new blower motor for a mere $90 and then gathered the necessary tools to complete the job.  Keep in mind it was about 112 degrees yesterday when all this transpired.  The tools:  the heavily padded moving blanket (for his knees on the driveway), my eggshell foamy mattress (to lie on the floor of the van), a screwdriver, a large glass of ice water and the portable trouble light on an extra long extension cord (to see in the dark crevice under the dash.)

A few hours later, and a few pounds of sweat soaked into my foamy mattress (ewwww), VOILA!  the new blower motor was installed.  One minor glitch: the blower he bought was not functional, but he didn’t know it until it was installed.  Bummer, dude.  At that point Rick came into the house and offered $10 to any kid who would remove it.  We had one taker, Austin…. and it took him 10 minutes!

Blower motor #2 was purchased and installed and today I had sweet cold air blowing on my face.  Ahhhhhhhh.  Thank you, my sweaty Knight and Austin!

3 Responses to “Knight in Sweaty Armor to the Rescue!”

  1. morethananelectrician Says:

    I am sure he could have cried when the first one didn’t work. I have this stupid habit of powereing up stuff like this before I install it after experience similar things too often.

  2. Grace Says:

    Wow Rick — I’m impressed!! Good for you and your mechanical loving son. Thanks for looking out for my girl.

  3. Gramp and Gram R. Says:

    WOW, I’m impressed also. Nothing like the satisfaction of self acomplishment, plus the dollars saved and still in your pocket.

Leave a Reply

