The Shoe Maker’s Barefoot Children

I didn’t see this one coming.  Noooooo, not in the least.  Since Rick’s plane has been grounded for six months, his introduction to the CUBE brought on creativity and ingenuity that had been hidden for eight and a half years.  He started a pest control business.  Anyway, the business broke even the first month!  If you know anything about starting a business, that was amazing.  Total favor of God!  And although I’ve been tempted to pray that our friends get termites, I’ve refrained so far.

Yes, for his logo, it’s a cockroach with a suitcase. {sigh}

So, back to the shoe maker’s barefoot children.  Today was bug day for me.  Yesterday I went out to water the plants in the back yard and found an ant infestation underneath one of our palm trees.  Millions of ants.  The little brown ones that bite and it stings.  I googled “natural ant extermination” and decided to try cornmeal.  It’s supposed to clog their digestive tracts, but not fast enough that they can’t share the booty first.  Essentially, they are all supposed to explode within 12 hours.  Well, I didn’t detect any exploded ants this morning, just three million more cousin ants that came to visit.  So I resorted to vinegar.  It’s supposed to drown the ants and collapse their nest.  It worked for about 12.98 minutes.  Next, boiling water.  All that produced was ant bites on my ankles.  THE stinging kind.  Back into the house for baking soda paste for my ankles. 

I also scraped a smashed cricket from a video box this morning.  Ewwwww.  IN the house.

I started making Grandma Nikander’s Swedish pancakes, but not before I removed a spider web from the stove hood.  Gross.  After flipping the batch of pancakes, I sat at the kitchen table to enjoy my memory of Grandma.  As I took my first bite, a bug of some sort ran from the centerpiece to the safe haven under my breakfast plate.  With lightning fast speed I pick up my plate and slammed the bug with my hand.

THIS is how the barefoot children of the shoe maker feel!  I totally get it now.

4 Responses to “The Shoe Maker’s Barefoot Children”

  1. Jill Says:

    That just shouldn’t be. I am appalled that you would have to go through all of that while there is a van parked in your driveway with the words “Bugs Bee Gone” pasted all over it. Downright shame, it is…

  2. Jill Says:

    OH!! I do have one word for you……. R-A-I-D !!!!! Works wonders.

  3. rixgal Says:

    I think you were born with a RAID can in your hand, Jilly.

  4. Jill Says:

    and you weren’t ??!

Leave a Reply

