School Starts in the Morning! Aaaack!

chp_school

This is a picture of me a few years back, teaching Keeve at the chalkboard.  OK, back to reality.  I’m so thankful to be able to teach my kids at home.  I love it.  I love them.  I love being at home. I love learning.  I love watching them learn.  It’s the best.  I can’t imagine sending them away all day.  (I CAN imagine what I would do if they did go, but not the actual sending them part.)

However, school starts in the morning and I am nowhere near as ready as I’d like to be.  Oh well.  We’ll still take our first day of school picture on the front porch (in front of the school house.)  We need to clean out the boys’ binders from last year and test everyone to see how much smarts seeped out over summer.  There won’t be a general cleaning of the bookshelf this year.  First time in 9 years.   Again, oh well.  Worse things could happen….  and probably have.

Yes, this is year number NINE!  Wow!  We have lots of field trips lined up already for the boys with a great group of families.  That is new and exciting.  We are starting a new math program, VideoText, for Larisa and possibly Austin… that is ALWAYS fun with a capital F.  AND we’re starting with breakfast at the table together each morning.  You’re probably asking yourself, where did they eat before?  We didn’t all sit together.  We slipped in and out of the kitchen chairs at our convenience all before 9:00 a.m. Not no more.  (Ain’t that great grammar!?) 

I bought a Christian worldview curriculum, Thinking Like a Christian, that we will be going through together to figure out what we believe and why.  It’ll be good.  I promise.  Right after the Wheaties.

We are also ALL taking Spanish(except the principal.)  Watch, right when I get all these great ideas rolling along merrily, we’ll get our referral call and all my planning will be blown to bits.  But that’s ok with me!  Bring it on!

Happy schooling, for those schooling!

Tags: , , , , ,

3 Responses to “School Starts in the Morning! Aaaack!”

  1. Jennie C. Says:

    Eeep – we have two more weeks before school starts. Yous guys are crazy!

  2. Ed Says:

    That can’t be you, you never had saddle oxford shoes.

  3. jilly Says:

    More power to you Linda, from Gramps. And I don’t know how Jilly’s name appeared in the above lines. Probably something to do with the fact that she and Cornilius were just here for a few days?

Leave a Reply

