Frantic Frenzy

As I was eating bon bons on the couch watching my soaps this afternoon I got THE phone call. (OK, if you only knew how that is SO NOT me! It simply sounds inviting to me on days like today.) More like: I was STILL homechooling my boys at 4:15 p.m. today at the kitchen table, when I got THE phone call. The news was kind of expected, but the timing was POOR, to say the least.  Our homestudy needs to be updated and the only date our case worker had comfortably available was in two weeks.  Well, in two weeks, Rick and I will be on a cruise ship eating at the midnight chocolate buffet.  The dear is from out-of-town so she looked at her already full calendar and suggested Thursday at 1:00.  THIS Thursday.  I had no choice… I said “ok”.. and then I looked around and wanted to cry.  I have about 39 hours.

Before I show you the highly top-secret photos of the messy state of the Crosby union, I have to let you know what was ALREADY on my schedule between now and Thursday at 1:00.  1. drop off son for car pool 2. visit my mother 3. Bible Study Wed. 1:30 – 4:30 4. speaking preparations 5. pack my book sale stuff  6. fill up the gas in the van 7. speak at MOPS Thursday morning an hour away 8. homeschool   9. pedicure 10. date night with Rick.  As you can see, I had to cross a few things off.  And added to the list: 11. throw all Christmas boxes in the garage  12. scrape piles of stuff under the couch, in the oven and into the laundry room.  We also need to do something about the broken trampoline poles… they don’t look adoption safe at the moment.  Too much WWF from my boys.  They use the poles to swing up on the roof over our patio…. the perfect jumping off place.  (We call it the “fire escape” for the upstairs bedrooms…. out Keeve’s window on the patio roof and safely onto the trampoline.)

OK, just to vindicate myself, these cluttered pictures do not mean our house is DIRTY… just messy… from Christmas decorating that didn’t actually happen yet.  I sadly share tonight’s photo essay:

The kitchen table:

The computer desk:

The living room:

The dining room: (the lamp does not belong there!)

The family room:

The pantry:

Yes, the kitchen is not included in this messy montage… it is unordinarily clean at the moment with freshly baked peanut butter cookies cooling on the racks.  Seriously!

OK, I do realize that instead of taking pictures and writing a blog I could’ve been working on the mess… but that’s no fun ALONE!  Tomorrow I have three willing and able elves to help with Christmas decorating for baby Jesus’ birthday and homestudy cleaning.  :o)  Say a little prayer for the Crosbys, please.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Frantic Frenzy”

  1. Nancy Says:

    Congratulations for the call! Now I wonder if this is a referral call or the call to get your homestudy updated ;-)

  2. rixgal Says:

    The homestudy updated. A referral call would not make me concerned about the state of my house. In fact it would most likely make it considerably more messy… with joy and glee with wild abandon.

  3. Jody Says:

    So, the real “THE CALL!!!” Does that mean a referral. Not sure how that works. So happy for you.

  4. rixgal Says:

    No, no, Jody. Not the referral call. I would be extatic with joy and not concerned about the house! It was the social worker calling to update our homestudy…. of our messy house. :o)

  5. Kelly Says:

    Ok, I also was thinking THE call!!! That was just a major tease!!!

    I must share our 1st home study story…I am completely novice at this adoption stuff (well maybe not so novice anymore, but when we started “way back when” I was definetly novice). I did not realize that our social worker would tour our whole house!!! We live in a 2 story. I had picked up & cleaned up the downstairs where I thought we would only be. When she said she needed to see the rest of the house I nearly had a ♥ attack =/ It’s all good though. It wasn’t horrible or dirty… just not better homes & garden like I would have liked her to see… haa haa

Leave a Reply

