My Kids are SO Smart

Detail of onion domes on Saint Basil's Cathedral in Moscow

It always makes my chest puff up a bit and my buttons strain before bursting when my children make a comment about something we studied together YEARS ago.  It means they were actually listening to me!  Glory be!  Some historical information was actually stored in their little heads.  And there is recall! Sweet mercy, it does a homeschooling mother’s heart good. 

It happened this week.  My oldest son who is 13 was asked to prune an unruly bush in the backyard.  He primarily does ball-shaped pruning, but this was a grassy plant with cat tail-like projecting sticks…. not the ball-shaped type of bush.  I was explaining to him that I wanted a diamond-shaped result and used repeated hand motions for clarification.

My 11-year-old son commented from the couch, helping his mother’s dismal explanation, “She means like a Russian onion dome!”  Immediately the older boy got it…. “Oh!  OK!”  And went outside with the electric pruning shears in hand.  We studied Russia in 2007!  My kids are so smart!  St. Basil’s Cathedral… that’s exactly what I meant!  I felt like yelling out the back door, “And could you please make the oleander bush into Khufu’s pyramid?”  But I restrained myself.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “My Kids are SO Smart”

  1. The Robers Says:

    Amazing and very satisfying when you hear what they have retained from your instruction. Another category is how much you hear, or don’t hear, about what they have “done” when not in your presence. As you know, our kids are in their very late 50’s and even 60, and even now we occasionally hear about a “happening” that we previously had no knowledge of. At least they are there in our presence so we know that they survived the unknown incident. Thank The Lord.

  2. Jennie C. Says:

    Ha. I learned about onion domes from you, too!

    … and now I’m finally caught up on your blog. I love “visiting” your family this way.

    • rixgal Says:

      So glad you popped in. I’m in need of catching up on yours too. That last one I read was about the lego creation about mom…..

Leave a Reply

