Update on Such a Time as This!

For those faithful readers who have been around here at MSJ for at least a year, you may recall my moment of excitement about a project that was presented to us (me).  If not, go here for a refresher: https://mysistersjar.wordpress.com/2010/02/01/for-such-a-time-as-this/

I felt the need to update you on the project.  A homeschool curriculum that I have used, since I pulled my daughter out of public school in 2001, was looking at heading toward retirement.  This news was not met by me with gladness or joy.  I was half-way between mad and utter shock!  This is the best curriculum out there, in my humble homeschooling opinion.  Taking matters into my own hands, I called a fellow homeschool mom in California and found that she was even more scared than I was that this useful tool might fall by the way-side.  With much prayer and supplication (and pizza dinners while we worked) we contacted the owners of the curriculum and asked if they were open to a buy-out-revamp business proposal.  They said they would look at it.

So for about two weeks, our two families talked to people in the business world and came up with a scheme to keep it alive.  We found willing volunteers to do work that we did not have the expertise to complete on our own…. web designers, tax people, Bible-knowing women, typists and proofreaders.  I was genuinely excited about the possibility of being “The Next Generation” to stand in the gap for other homeschoolers!  The work required was monumental.  The commitment was all-encompassing. The peace from God was in our hearts… simultaneously.  We presented the plan.

Upon further discussion with the owners, a buy-out would not be feasible because of the way the business was structured.  It was over. Just like that.  Shot down in a blaze of glory

So why did we have to go through this (and eat pizza for two weeks?)  The author of the curriculum had just been through the most difficult time in her life.  We were aware of this, hence the plan to keep her magnum opus alive and well.  My phone conversation with her lasted just over an hour… for which I took very sloppily written notes on 12 pieces of printer paper.  The last line I wrote down were her words, choked out among tears, “Thank you for doing this.  I needed to know that someone else believes in my life’s work.”

There you have it.  God planned it to bless her with our efforts.  Her life’s work was confirmed in her heart as worthy and valuable.  And it was ALL worth it.  It didn’t go as I planned, but God’s plans don’t always go with my plans.  Thankfully I’m proficient at a change-of-direction-in-the-middle-of-my-plan.  So there.  You are updated.

One Response to “Update on Such a Time as This!”

  1. Megan Says:

    Hello!! I have a few questions about Cali to ask you if you don’t mind…we may be headed there soon ;) Please email me at megehart@gmail.com or leave a comment on my blog so we can get in touch! Wondering about the place you all rented to stay at! Thanks so much!! Megan

Leave a Reply

