Friends

Eleven years ago, my sister and best friend, moved away from Phoenix to Washington state.  REALLY far away. I didn’t want her to move away…. with my two cutie-pie nieces… it was not fair.  But life is rarely fair.  She left on a Saturday and I woke up Sunday and just cried.  Preferably, I like to keep my peeps right close.  I did not prefer this arrangement, but knew God’s hand was on their move.

Before Christy left she recorded this song on a cassette tape and gave it to me.  (Remember those?) I played it over and over as a sweet salve to my sad soul.  My husband got sick of it really fast.  Well, maybe it was after the 127th time I had played it.  And I usually couldn’t make it through the song without crying either.

A few weeks after Christy’s move and my mourning period had eased, Rick came home to find me crying again.  It was totally about something else, but he non-sympathetically asked, “Were you listening to your sister’s tape again?”  HAHA.  It’s funny now, but it wasn’t funny then.  Time has a way of changing scenarios.

Still today I love this song.  The Lord has blessed me with so many friends through the years.  I truly am thankful!  Every place we have lived, He supplied a bosom friend for me.  I love you, my friends!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Friends”

  1. Christy B . Says:

    Awwww. That made me smile. Love you! Still wish we lived close!

Leave a Reply

