The Daily Drizzle

There are seasons in life when it rains.  There are seasons in life when it pours.  There are also seasons in life when it drizzles.  I’m in the drizzle phase…. constant and ever busy with nothing big at all.

Forty-Five!  It’s not only how old I am…. are you ready?  It’s how many pounds I’ve taken off in my quest to be ever-loving-healthy again.  Or actually for the first time in my life.  It is encouraging to see perseverance paying off…. but my wardrobe is dwindling.  A GOOD thing!  Trust me.  I sweet-talked Mr. Wallet into taking me shopping to get at least one presentable outfit for public viewing.  My jean shorts that I wear every single day (Two pair…. stop judging.) are not my idea of acceptable business casual apparel.  So off we went.  At the store, I thought of you, my faithful readers, when I spotted a supremely tacky gray t-shirt that blazed, “My BLOG is better than your blog.”  But I knew at that moment that it wasn’t true.  I have not been faithful to writing.  I’ve been faithful to keeping my sunglasses clear of the present drizzle that is consuming me in the first few weeks of homeschool madness starting.  We did start, by the way.  And it’s going well.  The initial week was a RUDE wake-up call to my two male offspring who have coasted until this year.  By Thursday, when both were three days behind, the wonder-twin powers ignited and unbelievably to me, they completed all their work.  Amazing what kids can do when you withhold nourishment.  JUST KIDDING!

Here we are my four chillins on the first day of school. 

Our school uniforms this year are tank-tops, shorts and flip-flops. (Remember when THOSE used to be called thongs?…. sigh.)  No, that happy kid in the back didn’t get the memo, but he is happy and that cancels uniform infractions.

The drizzle continues.  I’m off to the cool pines of Prescott today for four glorious days of scrapbooking.  Well, that is what I used to do the whole time… but now we watch movies, get pedicures, go to Goodwill on 50% off day, shop, eat out, you get the picture.  But we still go under the guise of being crafty women. 

Enjoy your weekend.  You know I will.  :o)

 

5 Responses to “The Daily Drizzle”

  1. Stan and Val Rober Says:

    Glad to hear from you again.

  2. Star Forbis Says:

    I too go through spells of time when I can’t Blog enough. I like the explanation of the Drizzle! :) (And I like the T-shirt! Did you buy it?) :)

  3. rixgal Says:

    Star, I didn’t buy the shirt. I could have bought it and delivered it to you! hahaha. On my summer to-do list was Meet Star. It didn’t happen in the summer. Let’s make it happen in the Fall!

  4. Pam Says:

    45 POUNDS AWESOMELY AMAZING!!!! KEEP UP WHATEVER YOU’RE DOING!!! (sorry for the all caps, I’m just soooooo excited for you!!!)

  5. rixgal Says:

    Thanks, Pam. I’m EXCITED TOO!

Leave a Reply

