God is at it again! (grin)

Some verses to chew on today:  “Give, and it will be given to you: good measure, pressed down, shaken together, and running over, will be given to you. For with the same measure you measure it will be measured back to you.” Luke 6:38

“Bring one-tenth of your income into the storehouse so that there may be food in my house. Test me in this way,” says the LORD. “See if I won’t open the windows of heaven for you and flood you with blessings.” Malachi 3:10.

Both of these Bible verses bring excitement inside my chest.  Not because of a BIG prize at the end, but because we cannot out give God.  When my tithe goes into the offering bag at church it fills me with anticipation to see how God will provide and allow us to bless others because of obedience.  Blessing always follows obedience… I’ve told my kids that for 18 years.  It’s true.  We’ve seen it and lived it over and over.

The most recent occurrence was YESTERDAY!  I was with a group of people who were all paying for a book.  As I pulled out the checkbook (yes, I’m old school!) I felt the Lord whisper that I should pay for the person next to me.  No big deal.  It wasn’t a gob of money, but it freed my heart to be able to bless someone who needed to know God has their back through crisis.   

Out of the blue, which could also be written “as it happened” (which means God is moving on our behalf) several hours later our family was blessed with a gift more than five times what I gave.  That’s how God works.  It brought tears to my eyes, not only because of the generosity of a friend, but because it reminded me that God has our back even without a crisis.  I sent a thank you email and our friend’s response read, “Some day I’ll tell you the rest of the story!”  See!? 

We need to be like the children of Israel and tell of God’s goodness and faithfulness over and over so we won’t forget and our children won’t forget.  A week ago, I was telling a friend several of the miracles that surrounded our adoption.  It brought me to tears then too, because it could only be God who could orchestrate all that happened… confirmations, relationships, donations, connections, etc.  There were no coincidences.  It was straight up miracles of the living God.

I love the verse in Malachi where God says, “Test me in this!”  It has challenged me beyond belief to release the little in my hands for the immeasurable blessing to come.

Leave a Reply

