Yet Another Event-filled Trip

IMG_0075

(Blurry photo courtesy of yours truly!)

Yet another event-filled trip including airports, airplanes and mishap after mishap.  It started with the suitcase being 62.5 lbs… 12.5 lbs OVER the weight limit.  Do we want to pay $75 for 12.5 lbs.?  NO!  So the unzipping of said bulging suitcase and our two carry-on suitcases commenced.  Followed by much shoving and re-weighing.  Finally, we got it down to 49.5…. but the airport scale announced a .5 lb. gain on the drive to the airport.  Whatev.

On the drive to the airport in the dark of the early morning, I realized I neglected to adorn myself with my silver jewelry and my WATCH!  I am going to be late ALL WEEK!  Thankfully, a fellow glamor queen brought two and shared.  When we got to the airport, I dug around and found replacement jewelry so I wasn’t naked.  Whew!

Next, you would have thought it was our first time traveling…. (and Rick is a pilot for Pete’s sake and heaven all mighty!)… We BOTH got pulled over at security.  I left a water bottle in my purse.  DUH!  Rick left his wallet in his pocket for the full body scan.  That didn’t go over well.  AND he put the laptop in a conveyor belt bin WITH his belt and shoes.  Uh… big time no no.

Next, we had a blowout on the handle of the FAVORITE carry-on.  No big deal, right?  I mean, how much do you use the handle on the top of the small suitcase?  Only every single time you try to move it up or down.  Moving on.

Airspeed indicator malfunction.  That’s what our two hour delay sitting in the plane on the tarmac was caused by.  My pilot-husband did confirm that whatever that indicator indicates is pretty important for flight safety, so we patiently and impatiently waited before our 4.5 hour flight.  So, we landed two hours behind schedule, but not late enough to miss out on a Philly Cheese Steak sandwich in Philly.  YO Adrian!  The crack in THE bell, and all that jazz.

Upon arrival at the Sandy Cove retreat center in North East, Maryland, I discovered that I left my favorite turquoise reading glasses in the seatback pocket on the airplane.  That just plain made me said.  Those were my favs.  Yes, they were from the Dollar Store but STILL!

My $10 manicure only lasted two days… and I didn’t even do any dishes.  So it cost me another $2.95 and $2.85 to match the color and buy more top coat, turning the $10 manicure into a $16 manicure…. gah.  #so.not.worth.it!

But we arrived in Ellicott City, Maryland today to one of the biggest hotel rooms I have laid my eyeballs on in a looooong time.  I even stole borrowed two chairs from the hall and we had a 7-man meeting in our plentifully spacious room.   He shoots!  He scores!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

