Friends tell Friends!

Redoing a room in the house brings me joy. Painting new fresh colors on dirty walls brings me joy. Finding innovative ideas to use in my house brings me joy. Painting baseboards does not bring me joy…… until today.

My friend, Beth, came over and told me, as only a friend could, that my baseboards need to be painted. I rolled my eyes at her. Seriously. You think I didn’t know that? I HATE, loathe, dislike strongly, abhor and detest painting baseboards. But she made it sound like no big deal. WHAT ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT, YOU CRAZY WOMAN?

Beth told me that I just need to go buy one of those long blades to push down between the carpet and baseboard and slap the paint on…. it’s EASY.  She said “EASY” in the same sentence with “Paint” and “Baseboard.” I rolled my eyeballs for a second time. How come I’ve never heard of such a thing if it is so easy?

The next day, I went to Lowe’s. Lo and behold, there was a selection of barrier blades right next to the paint section where I have picked out paint colors for ten years. TEN YEARS.

painting blade huge

There were GARGANTUAN blades, but my arms aren’t even long enough to paint the whole length, and I have really long arms.  So we got the next size down.

painting blade

This is the most ingenious tool in the painting world (besides the little thingamajig that holds down the spray paint nozzle so your hand doesn’t cramp). It was SO EASY! (Just like Beth reported!) And I did the whole loft full of baseboards in 15 minutes. I’m not lying. This is straight up black plastic glory on a stick. Get a load of my beautiful baseboards.

painted baseboard

If you are my friend and you knew about this useful tool that would bring me joy and you didn’t tell me… don’t let me know now or you will be crossed off my Christmas card list for all eternity.  This is the kind of information that friends tell friends. Like my friend, Beth….. I wonder how long she has known about this??????

Anyway, for $12, you too can live a life of joy with brand-spanik’-newly-painted baseboards. Really, it’s easy.

2 Responses to “Friends tell Friends!”

  1. Amy Says:

    My baseboards have needed to be painted for years. Did not know about this product… I will paint my baseboards now! :-)

  2. LEROY NIKANDER Says:

    The book I sent you.
    The author is a dear friend of Margaret and me.
    I think you will enjoy it.
    Leroy

Leave a Reply

