Debit Card Conundrum, Part IV

I honestly thought Part III was the last installment in this saga. Not so, as was made apparent yesterday and today.

credit-cards-large

I finally received a new debit card in the mail for our joint account. I called the number on the little red sticker to validate the card yesterday morning. After typing in all the blinkin’ numbers twice, I was informed that this card was already activated. WHAT? Twenty-seven seconds ago I opened the envelope fresh out of the mailbox! Say it isn’t so! (Debit card purgatory is REAL, people!)

Last night after the Tempe Christmas Light Parade, we strolled into Starbucks to sip some expensive warm beverages. My husband has a challenge with Starbuck’s policy on moral issues that we don’t agree with… and the fact that they don’t support the military… so he went next door to Arby’s to get a milkshake. (Arby’s was out of milkshakes, which made me giggle.)

All that to say, I was the one pulling out my wallet for a kid’s cocoa and two grande plain red cups. (Red for the blood of Jesus!) I swiped my newly-received-already-validated debit card. It wasn’t approved. Feeling justified with my frustration, I explained to the cashier that it was a brand new card… just activated… like that changed the fact, in her mind, that there were insufficient funds in my account! I inquired if I should swipe it a second time. She replied, “No, I hit an override button to get it approved. So you have a 50/50 chance of paying for it or not.” Wow.

Checking our bank account this morning, we were indeed treated to free fraps and cocoa last night. If only Rick would have ordered one!  hahahahaha. Thank you, Starbucks!

Not knowing if the card really was not working, I swiped it again today at Petco, because bunnies poop… it’s a fact of life. The card processing machine is an example of customer conditioning which I fell prey to.

DO YOU WANT TO PROCESS THIS AS CREDIT?  No.

DO YOU WANT CASH BACK?   No.

DO YOU WANT TO DONATE TO A HOMELESS PET SHELTER?  No.

(See the pattern here….)

IS THIS AMOUNT CORRECT: $27.32?    I hit NO.… and had to start all over.

After the second time through all the questions, in addition to my pin  number my newly-received-already-activated debit card was denied.

I went through the whole process AGAIN with the old debit card that was supposed to be inactive now. It worked. Sheesh. If this keeps up I’ll have a wallet stuffed with debit cards that may or may not work on random days and I’ll have to swipe and pray for the rest of my ever-loving life.

One Response to “Debit Card Conundrum, Part IV”

  1. Lynnette Says:

    We agree with Rick about SB. I feel your pain about debit cards. But, your stuff is funny!

Leave a Reply

