The Bible and Orphans

God’s Promises to the Orphan 
I copied this list from the Uribes Family blog.  They have returned from Colombia with their little man. So adorable.  I love the list because it shows the heart of a relational God.  A righteous God.  

I will defend you.   Ps 82:3  “Defend the cause of the weak and fatherless;  Ps 10:14  “You are the helper of the fatherless.”

I will rescue you. Ps 82:4 “Rescue the weak and needy;”

I will deliver you.  Ps 82:4 “deliver them from the hand of the wicked.”

I will not leave you as orphans.    Jn 14:18  “I will not leave you as orphans;”

I will come to you.  Jn 14:18 “I will come to you.”

I will protect you.  Jer 49:11 “I will protect the orphans who remain among you.”

I will hear you.  Ex 22:22-23  “You must not exploit a widow or orphan.  If you  exploit them in any way and they cry out to me, I will certainly hear their cry.”                                        

I will be your Father. Ps 68:5 “Father to the fatherless”

I will put you in a family.  Ps 68:6 “God places the lonely in families”

I will not forget you. Is 49:15-16  “Can a mother forget the baby at her breast and have no compassion on the child she has born?  Though she may forget, I will never forget  you.”  

I will give you compassion.  Hos 14:3   “…in you the fatherless find compassion.”

I will give you justice.  Deut 10:18  “He defends the cause of the fatherless and the widow.”

I will come close to you.  Ps 27:10 “Even if my father and mother abandon me, the Lord will hold me close.”

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment