Corn Flakes & Fried Chicken Cause Memory Loss

corn flake fried chicken

While my husband’s away playing out his childhood fantasy of pond hockey, I determined to feed my children real food, not macky cheese or frozen pizza.  I defrosted a pack of chicken yesterday and successfully searched for a scrumptious corn-flakes-fried-chicken-cooked-in-the-oven recipe.  My mouth waters thinking of the first crunchy bite, which hasn’t happened yet, and it’s 8:34 p.m. 

10:30 a.m. After discovering the tempting recipe, I decided to double the batch so I wouldn’t have to cook again for 3 days.  Out of the freezer came the twin brother of the pack of chicken that is thawed in the fridge.  I set them both on the counter….. and then my sister called and I went upstairs to chat.  We solved most of the world’s problems in that single phone call. Then I washed my hair and tried a new straight style.  Then I sorted through magazine pages of shabby-chic girly bedrooms for my friend who was coming to borrow them.  Then I crossed the street to talk to my brother.

1:30 p.m. Holy Smokes! It was time to leave for my son’s hockey game…. and I discovered the packs of chicken on the counter.  Shoot.  I put the thawed pack back in the fridge and even though I know all the warnings about salmonella poisoning from defrosting chicken on the counter…..  we haven’t died yet….. so the half-frozen pack stayed put. (Please don’t email me warnings… or horror stories.)

The hockey game surpassed my greatest hopes with a 4-0 shut out…….. and Austin scored a HAT TRICK!  Woooo Hoooo! (That is three goals in one game, for those non-hockey readers.) Makes a mama proud!

5:30 p.m. I arrived home from the amazing game to find the thawed chicken on the counter.  Oh, yeah, I was going to make corn-flakes-fried-chicken-baked-in-the-oven.  (Warning: my first senior moment occurred next.)  I went to the fridge to retrieve the originally thawed pack of chicken that was not growing salmonella organisms… but it had vanished.  Now it was a rather bulky, bright yellow, sixteen inch long pack of chicken.  Should be easy to spot, you’d think.  Upon deeper investigation, I found it back in the freezer, now frozen a second time.  Is this what it’s like growing old??? I was back to square one with one thawed pack and its twin frozen…… again.  Eventually, I did get it in the oven.

The moral of the story is, if you want to know how the chicken crossed the kitchen, don’t ask me.  I can’t remember.

Tags: , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Corn Flakes & Fried Chicken Cause Memory Loss”

  1. Jennie C. Says:

    Go Austin!!!!

  2. pluckymama Says:

    Sounds like something I would totally do!

  3. patty h Says:

    love it. sounds like something I would do.

  4. Stanley Rober Says:

    Love it. Sounds like something we ARE doing.

  5. Daisy Says:

    Can you please send me the recipe at d.asonye@yahoo.com. Thank you!!!!

  6. Christine B Says:

    Well that a good way of cooking chicken try it with egg wash with ginger, garlic and then the Corn Flakes and tell me it is so good.

Leave a comment